Filthy Friends: Invitation CD | LP | DIGI

Select your options:

Pick Your Format

Added to Cart!

You successfully added Filthy Friends: Invitation CD | LP | DIGI to your cart.

Filthy Friends Invitation album is available in four formats (Please pick one):

• 320kbps MP3 download

• CD

• Black Vinyl LP

• Limited edition colored vinyl - Coke Bottle/Clear Green (LIMIT ONE PER CUSTOMER)

Filthy Friends is the sound of music being made free of expectations, free of fear for how it will be received, free of any and all bullshit that has become lingua franca of the modern music industry. Filthy Friends is the product of likeminded individuals with nothing to prove getting together and making a heroic racket together that finds space for their many influences and interests.

The band is lucky in that regard. Their legacies in the music world are comfortably secured. Lead singer Corin Tucker has left an indelible mark on the punk scene through her memberships in Sleater-Kinney and Heavens to Betsy. Guitarist Kurt Bloch has logged a lot of hours as the leader of The Fastbacks, as well as serving as a producer/mentor for up and coming Seattle rock groups. Drummer Bill Rieflin has a fine day job as one of the drummers in King Crimson. Bassist Scott McCaughey keeps plenty busy doing studio work and mining the power pop underground with his long-running band the Young Fresh Fellows. As for the other guitarist Peter Buck...if you’re unfamiliar with him, you haven’t been paying attention to the last 30 years of alternative/college/indie rock. (Stage whisper: He used to be in R.E.M.)

So far, the world has gotten to know Filthy Friends through a nicely scattershot batch of songs: “Despierata,” their entry into the anti-Trump project 30 Songs For 30 Days and the 2017 Record Store Day release featuring their original “Any Kind of Crowd” and a sinister take on Roxy Music’s “Editions of You.” Now this fierce collective is fanning the flames even hotter with the release of their debut full-length Invitation. Yes, it does slip their already released tracks into the mix, but what surrounds those two tunes is oh so much more than you could have ever asked for.

The 12-song collection works through a flurry of different moods and styles, genre exercises and joyous experiments. The intricate guitar knots and blasts of bubblegum pop of Buck’s beloved Television are all over the herky-jerky “Windmill.” A mashup of ‘60s downer vibes and rootsy rumblings makes up the marvelous “Second Life” whereas “Come Back Shelley” is all swagger and glitz in the style of a lost glam rock 45. There ain’t nothing this band can’t do with the wet clay of rock music and what they sculpt out of it is pure art.

If you can sense an ease with the way these songs and this band got together that isn’t a mistake. The five Filthy Friends have gotten to know each other well, lo these past few decades. Bloch and McCaughey are both longstanding members of the Young Fresh Fellows. Rieflin and McCaughey were both unofficial members of R.E.M. during the band’s post-Bill Berry years. If that weren’t enough Buck, Rieflin, and McCaughey are also members of the Minus 5 and the Venus 3, bands that have made fantastic records on their own and with venerated singer-songwriters like John Wesley Harding, Alejandro Escovedo and Robyn Hitchcock. With all of them living and working in the Pacific NW, they’ve all gotten to know and love the work that Tucker has done in Sleater-Kinney and with her solo ventures.

The bottom line is that this is a group of musical lifers who, after 30+ years of playing shows both big and small, still get a visceral thrill out of recording a great song or standing on stage. They’d be doing it with the same enthusiasm and authority if they had an audience of 5 or 5,000. Don’t ask much more of them beyond that. We demand far too much from the artists we love. Best to let these kids do what they wanna do and just enjoy rolling around in the muck with them whenever we get their invitation.

Amps For Christ
Amy Miller
Anna Oxygen
Blood on the Saddle
Born Against
C Average
Cameron Esposito
Cold Cold Hearts
Colin Meloy
Comet Gain
Corin Tucker Band
Danielle Howle
Deep Lust
Delta 5
Delta 72'
Die Monitr Batsss
Edwin Torres
Elliott Smith
Emily Heller
Emily XYZ
Emily's Sassy Lime
Erase Errata
Essential Logic
Excuse 17
Filthy Friends
Fitz Of Depression
Forbidden Friends
Free Kitten
Get Hustle
Godzik Pink
Gold Chains & Sue Cie
Gospel Music
Grass Widow
Gravy Train!!!!
Har Mar Superstar
Hari Kondabolu
Harvey Danger
Heavens To Betsy
Holly Golightly
Horse Feathers
Ian Karmel
Imaad Wasif
Inca Ore with Lemon Bear's Orchestra
Jad and David Fair
Jean Smith
Jeff Hanson
Jim Carroll
John Wilkes Booze
Juliana Luecking
Kill Rock Stars
Kurt Braunohler
Li'l Pit
Linda Perry
Lois Maffeo and Brendan Canty
Long Hind Legs
Lung Leg
Marnie Stern
Mary Lou Lord
Mecca Normal
Men's Recovery Project
Mika Miko
Miranda July
Nathan Brannon
Nedelle & Thom
Need New Body
Nervous Cop
New Bloods
Nicole Panter
Owl & The Pussycat
Peter Plate
Portland Cello Project
Pussycat Trash
Refect Refect
Rhea Butcher
Ronnie Spector
Shy Child
Slim Moon
Slumber Party
Star Pimp
Starter Set
Stero Total
Sue P. Fox
Summer Cannibals
Survival Knife
Taiwan Housing Project
Thao & Mirah
The Advantage
The Decemberists
The Everyothers
The Great Unraveling
The John Doe Thing
The Lies
The Mae Shi
The Makers
The Mary Timony Band
The No-Neck Blues Band
The Old Haunts
The Planet The
The Punks
The Raincoats
The Robot Ate Me
The Seconds
The Shaky Hands
The Thermals
The pAper chAse
They Shoot Horses Don't They
Tight Bros From Way Back When
Two Ton Boa
Various Artists
Wooden Wand
Wooden Wand and the Sky High Band
Wooden Wand and the Vanishing Voice
Wrangler Brutes
Xiu Xiu
Young People
Zach HIll And Mick Barr
CDs & DVDs
Cassette Tapes